Peter Lyon prize

This is an annual prize by Routledge, the publishers of The Round Table, for the best policy-oriented article on a theme of significance for the contemporary Commonwealth published in the journal each calendar year. The prize, which carries a value of £1000 Sterling, is awarded each year to the author of the best policy-relevant article published in the previous year. It is awarded at the discretion of the editor, with advice both from the publishers and from the journal’s editorial and international advisory boards. The editor’s decision is final and no correspondence will be entertained on the subject.

The prize has been instituted in memory of Peter Lyon (1934-2010), who was Reader in International Relations at the Institute of Commonwealth Studies, University of London, and Editor of The Round Table from 1983 to 2004. Widely acknowledged as one of the leading experts on the Commonwealth, he was keen to bridge the divide between academia and policy-making, and over the period of his editorship he wrote almost 100 editorials and other articles for the journal, commenting on more or less every issue of relevance to the contemporary Commonwealth.

All articles published in the journal which contain a significant policy-oriented element will automatically be considered as entries for the prize.

To submit an article or a proposal for an article for publication in the journal, please contact:

Dr Venkat Iyer
Editor, The Round Table
c/o School of Law
Ulster University
Shore Road, Newtownabbey
County Antrim, BT37 0QB, UK


2018 winner – Michael Goldsmith

The Round Table is pleased to announce that the seventh winner of the Peter Lyon Prize is Professor Michael Goldsmith, of the University of Waikato, New Zealand. Michael has been awarded the prize for his article, “Diplomatic Rivalries and Cultural One-Upmanship: New Zealand’s Long Quest to Become more Pacific than Australia”, published in The Round Table, volume 106, issue 2 (April 2017).

Michael Goldsmith

Michael Goldsmith took early retirement as Associate Professor of Anthropology and Chair of the School of Social Sciences at the University of Waikato, Hamilton, New Zealand in 2014. He was subsequently made an Honorary Fellow of the University and continues to contribute to academic forums. He has published widely across anthropology, history and political studies, with a strong focus on the Island Pacific and New Zealand. Recent publications include ‘The Big Smallness of Tuvalu’ (Global Environment 2015) and his current projects include co-editing a collection of essays on conversion in the Pacific.

Previous winners

2016 winner – Ian Hall

The sixth winner of the Peter Lyon Prize was Professor Ian Hall, of Griffith University, Australia. Ian has been awarded the prize for his article, “Multialignment and Indian Foreign Policy under Narendra Modi”, published in The Round Table, volume 105, issue 3 (June 2016).

Ian Hall Ian Hall is the acting Director of the Griffith Asia Institute and a Professor in the School of Government and International Relations at Griffith University. He has published widely on the history of international thought and on Indian foreign policy, and taught at various institutions in both Australia and the UK. Among his recent publications is an edited book on The Engagement of India: Strategies and Responses (2014). He is currently working on a project analysing India’s relationship with the liberal international order.

2015 winner – Naeem Shakir


The fifth winner of the Peter Lyon Prize was Naeem Shakir, a Supreme Court Attorney of Pakistan. Naeem was awarded the prize for his article, “Islamic Shariah and Blasphemy Laws in Pakistan”, published in The Round Table, volume 104, issue 3 (June 2015).

Naeem was a leading human rights lawyer, and a life member of the Supreme Court Bar Association of Pakistan, with an active law practice for more than forty years. Sadly he died in October 2017.

2014 – Nikola Pijovic – “The Commonwealth: Australia’s Traditional ‘Window’ into Africa
The Round Table, volume 103, issue 4 (2014), pp. 383-397

2013 – Julian Burger –“Indigenous Peoples in Commonwealth Countries: the Legacy of the Past and Present-Day Struggles for Self-Determination
The Round Table, volume 102, issue 4 (2013), pp. 333-342

2012 – Rhona Smith – “Towards the rule of law’s human rights requirements in Commonwealth member states
The Round Table, volume 101, issue 4 (2012), pp. 311-329

2011 – Ben Saul – “Throwing Stones at Streetlights or Cuckolding Dictators? Australian Foreign Policy and Human Rights in the Developing World
The Round Table, volume 100, issue 4 (2011), pp. 423-439


Back to top ↑

We use cookies to improve your website experience. To learn about our use of cookies and how you can manage your cookie settings, please see our Cookie Policy. By closing this message, you are consenting to our use of cookies.