Harry Hodson prize

Win £1000 cash prize and publication of your article in The Round Table, The Commonwealth Journal of International Affairs.

This is an annual award presented by The Round Table in memory of the journal’s late Editor, Harry Hodson, and to mark his association with The Round Table for nearly 70 years. It is awarded for a written piece of work by an undergraduate or postgraduate student from a university in the Commonwealth.

Harry Hodson

Henry Vincent (Harry) Hodson (1906-1999), an economist by training, joined the editorial board of The Round Table in 1930, and served as Assistant Editor from 1931 to 1934 and Editor from 1934 to 1939; he remained an active member of the board until his death, and contributed over sixty articles to the journal. Meanwhile he was in government service during the Second World War, including a year as Reforms Commissioner in India; he later wrote The Great Divide (1969), on the partition of India. He was Assistant Editor (1946-50) then Editor (1950-61) of The Sunday Times before becoming the first Provost of Ditchley and Director of the Ditchley Foundation (1961-71). He was later Editor of The Annual Register (1973-88).


The topic may be freely chosen by applicants, but should relate to the contemporary Commonwealth, or a region or country within the Commonwealth. It should provide an interesting, engaging, and academically-based take on the chosen issue.

The piece of work can be written specifically for the competition or be based on an essay or part of a dissertation. However, on submission it should be read as a stand-alone piece of work, and it should not have been published, or submitted for publication, elsewhere.

Examples of winning essay topics include:

Submission criteria

Applicants for the award should contribute pieces of between 1000 and 2000 words in length (excluding any footnotes and bibliography) by 31 December 2024. NB any submissions received which are shorter than 1000 or longer than 2000 words will be automatically excluded. The prize-winning article may be edited to fit the format of the journal.

Other conditions

Applicants should be aged under 30 and registered students on 31 December 2024. Although only one Hodson Prize will be awarded each year, the Editor may offer publication to other entries submitted. Authors should retain copies of their articles, which will not normally be returned.


Submitted articles will be reviewed by members of The Round Table editorial board and a representative from Taylor and Francis, the journal’s publisher. The panel will be chaired by the Editor of the journal. Their decision will be final.

The Prize

The prize will have two parts. First, publication of the winning article in The Round Table. Second, the sum of £1000 sterling. The Round Table will also publicise the name of the winner and the winning entry.

How to submit your work

Entries for the award should be marked ‘Hodson Memorial Prize’, and sent via email by 31 December 2024 to [email protected].

About the 2023 Hodson Prize winners

The Round Table is pleased to announce that the joint winners of the 2023 Hodson Prize are Sophie Macdonald and Frank Devincenzi.

Sophie Macdonald has won a share of the prize for her essay, ‘In defence of Llanito: Gibraltar in a state of linguistic transition’.

Sophie Macdonald . Round Table Hodson Prize winner 2023

Sophie is a postgraduate student at University College London, studying towards an MA in Intercultural Communication. She recently graduated with a BA with honours in English at Cambridge University, where she was able to develop her research interest in Gibraltar’s local language variety, Llanito, into a dissertation about Llanito in Gibraltarian literature. Her main research interests are language endangerment, decolonisation and translingualism, which stem from a desire to protect Llanito from language loss in her birthplace, Gibraltar.


Frank Devincenzi has won a share of the prize for his essay, ‘Diverging paths for Canada: nationalism between Britain and America, 1957-1963’.

Frank Devincenzi, winner of the 2023 Round Table Hodson Prize

Frank is currently a postgraduate student studying International Relations at the London School of Economics and Political Science. He graduated from the University of Cambridge in 2022 with a BA with honours in History. His previous research projects have explored settler colonialism in the antebellum United States, and Canadian foreign policy. His other academic interests include the history of international political thought and nationalism. His current research focus is centred on small-state theory and the British Overseas Territories, prompted by ongoing EU-UK treaty negotiations over Gibraltar, from where he also comes.

Click here to learn about previous Hodson Prize winners.

Back to top ↑

We use cookies to improve your website experience. To learn about our use of cookies and how you can manage your cookie settings, please see our Cookie Policy. By closing this message, you are consenting to our use of cookies.